The Federal Employees' Retirement System (FERS) is a three-tiered system that includes:

You are under FERS if:

  • You were first hired on or after January 1, 1984; or,
  • You were rehired after a break in service of more than one year but with less than five years of creditable CSRS civilian service; or,
  • You elected to transfer to FERS; or,
  • You were rehired in a covered position after a separation from a FERS position

Additional FERS Information

Estimating Your Annuity

New Retirees

Other Resources