Who is eligible for FMLA?

All federal employees who have completed at least 12 months of federal service.

The following employees are not covered:

  • Public Health Service (PHS) Commissioned Corps Officers
  • Employees with intermittent appointments
  • Employees with temporary appointments of less than 13 months
  • Individuals not appointed by the government, such as:
    • Intramural Research Training Award Fellows
    • Guest Researchers
    • Visiting Fellows
    • Special Volunteers

Can we make this page better?

Let us know if you can't find the information you need, have a suggestion for improving this page, or found an error.

If your question requires an immediate response, please use the Contact Us form.

Do not include personally identifiable information (PII). Please review our privacy policy.