2020 NIH Director's Awards: National Cancer Institute

A message from Dr. Norman "Ned" E. Sharpless, Director, National Cancer Institute


Chronic Pancreatitis, Diabetes and Pancreatic Cancer Team
For exceptional creativity and leadership in implementing funding initiatives to address the nexus between pancreatic disease and cancer.

Dana Andersen, NIDDK
Sharmistha Ghosh-JanJigian, NCI
Stephen P. James, NIDDK
Jo Ann S. Rinaudo, NCI
Jose Serrano, NIDDK
Sudhir Srivastava, NCI
Aynur Unalp-Arida, NIDDK

Patient Recorded Outcomes Research Team
For visionary leadership in developing patient outcomes research as an integral part of clinical trials in the NIH Intramural Program.

Terri S. Armstrong, NCI
Pamela L. Wolters, NCI

Robert N. Hoover, NCI
In recognition of outstanding scientific contributions to our understanding of the long-term health effects of hormonal medications.

James N. Kochenderfer, NCI
For the development of novel and clinically effective chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell therapies for multiple myeloma and lymphoma.

Thomas A. Misteli, NCI
For superior skill, vision, creativity and effectiveness in leading one of NIH's largest intramural research programs.


CIMAC-CIDC Agreement Team
For extraordinary innovation, perseverance, and mediation that allowed for the development of agreements and guidelines which resulted in the CIMAC-CIDC network becoming a reality.

Stacey J. Adam, OD
Anna Z. Amar, OD
Sherry S. Ansher, NCI
Helen X. Chen, NCI
Jason V. Cristofaro, NCI
Rebecca A. Enos, NCI
David R. Patton, NCI
Jenny L. Peterson-Klaus, OD
Geoffrey E. Ravilious, NCI
Lynn M. Smelkinson, OD
Magdalena Thurin, NCI
David N. Wholley, OD
Jianqiao Zhang, NCI

Jason E. Levine, NCI
For his critical efforts in modernizing and maintaining the Information Technology infrastructure of the NIH Clinical Center and NCI's Center for Cancer Research.

NCI Technology Transfer Ambassadors Program Team
In recognition of the NCI Technology Transfer Ambassadors Program: Lab to Market Training for Post-doctoral Scientists Across the NIH.

Abritee  Dhal, NCI
Taryn E. Dick, NCI
Rose M. Freel, NCI
Laura T. Prestia, NCI

The Alan S. Rabson Award for Clinical Care

Stephanie L. Goff, NCI
For scientific and medical excellence and the outstanding, compassionate care for patients and those who love them.


Jonathan S. Wiest, NCI
For exemplary performance while demonstrating significant leadership, skill, and ability in serving as a mentor.

Additional Awards

Commissioned Corps

CAPT Richard Troiano, NCI
CDR Michael Kluk, NCI


Cheryl Royce, NCI

Recognition across NIH

The following individuals are recognized as part of a group hosted by another IC.


Kristie L. Hill, NCI


Michael A. Tucker, NCI


Rachel A. Mayne, NCI


Paige A. Green, NCI
Thomas K. Howcroft, NCI
Chamelli  Jhappan, NCI


Shakeel  Ahmad, NCI
Lisa K. Coleman, NCI
Thomas B. Duvall, NCI
Scott P. Keasey, NCI
Kristin L. Komschlies McConville, NCI
Shamala K. Srinivas, NCI


Daniel R. Larson, NCI


Gary L. Ellison, NCI
Armen A. Ghazarian, NCI
Chinonye Harvey, NCI
Ronald L. Johnson, NCI
Christie Kaefer, NCI
Tram K. Lam, NCI
Gila I. Neta, NCI
Neeraja  Sathyamoorthy, NCI
Deborah M. Winn, NCI


Jennifer A. Couch, NCI
Daniel L. Gallahan, NCI


Maureen E. Clark, NCI
Holly J. Gibbons, NCI
Mary K. Holohan, NCI
Steven A. Rosenberg, NCI
Carolyn T. Ugolino, NCI
Brigitte  Widemann, NCI
Page rating loading...
What was the best thing about this page?
What was the worst thing about this page?
Do not include personally identifiable information (PII). Please review our privacy policy.

Can we make this page better?

Let us know if you can't find the information you need, have a suggestion for improving this page, or found an error.

If your question requires an immediate response, please use the Contact Us form.

Do not include personally identifiable information (PII). Please review our privacy policy.